Posts

Circe

Image
Author: Madeline Miller 
Rating: 4.5/5 
Recommend: I would recommend all of Madeline Miller’s mesmerizing retelling of heroes and gods, in a heartbeat. Circe is no different – it is a novel which you will read time and time again, will take strength in and seek lessons from, and will remain in your memory for generations more to come. 
Circe is the tale of a woman. A woman, who from the minute she was born, was cast aside by both mother and father, deemed unworthy, plain and insignificant. Circe was a goddess, born from the blood of the sun titan himself – but, goddess or no are not all us women like her? Considered by society only for our beauty, little in much else, who men see fit to do as they will, treat as they will, just another object for them to take as they will… Circe is every woman in the world who has had to face the ugliness of men and society and fight them all alone. 

As with The Song Of Achilles, I had neither read nor heard of this tale before I came across Madeline Mil…

Lady Midnight

Image
Book 1 of The Dark Artifices series 
Author: Cassandra Clare 
Rating: 4/5 
Recommend: Shadowhunters both new and old will love this. Among all the different series’ in Cassandra Clare’s fantastic realm, Lady Midnight would come second only to The Infernal Devices novels. It is far better than The Mortal Instruments series. 
Imagine flames. Scorching, yellow flames all around you, towering over your height. Imagine the people you have loved all your life staring at you with lifeless eyes as they kill countless innocents around them. Imagine being 12 years old and surrounded in the middle of this chaos, your arms spread wide, protecting your younger siblings, the youngest just 2 years old. This is a memory from the life of Julian Blackthorn: the boy who killed his father to protect his family, a child who then singlehandedly raised four of his younger siblings when he was barely 12 years old himself. 
In Lady Midnight, we follow the lives of the Blackthorn children and Emma Carstairs, five y…

Five Things We Love About Rick Riordan: From The Thoughts Of A Long-Suffering Olympian

Image
“Someone on Instagram asked what Percy Jackson fans are called. I believe the correct term is ‘long-suffering.’” – Rick Riordan
Truer words have never been said. The man who spoke this quote has made us laugh: he made us laugh to the point where we spew the drink from our mouths, till tears of joy stream down our eyes, till we’re so distracted from reality, that the sudden calling of someone asking why we’re laughing seems to break a spell in which we were under. This man also left us gasping in shock, screaming after a huge 360 degree plot twist, crying in grief at the death of yet another beloved character, and so much more just in the span of a few short chapters. Rick Riordan has indeed left us long-suffering. Without further ado, here are the five things we love about the man, so deservingly titled ‘the storyteller of the gods”.
1. He makes the best cliffhangers

Now, now, you may be thinking what is there to love about this?? However, no matter how much you ranted, and wept, and scr…

The Cruel Prince

Image
Author: Holly Black 

Rating: 3.5/5 
Recommend: Fans of authors like Cassandra Clare and Leigh Bardugo are welcome to try this book. The Crown Prince feels like an extension of Cassie’s world, where we see the politics of the fae. There are some truly great parts to it such as the beautiful illustrations in every chapter and the cover, and the well-planned plot line. 
I don’t usually give ratings below four to bestselling novels, but there’s just something about The Cruel Prince that didn’t feel quite so compelling to me. Nevertheless, I’ll begin with it as I always do: first with a plot summary, and second with the parts which both appealed and did not appeal to me. 
Welcome to Faerieland – a place where both your sunniest dreams and your worst nightmares can come true. This realm and its inhabitants are as beautiful as they are deadly; they make up for their inability to lie with cruelty and madness and hate. This is the place where young Jude, along with her twin sister Taryn and the…

The Song of Achilles

Image
Author: Madeline Miller 

Rating: 5/5 
Recommend: Yes. Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes. This book will sweep you of your feet, rob you of your sleep, make you smile, cry, and hate and will put you under its spell till all you can see when you close your eyes is Achilles. 
I shiver as I write this, the piercing, tragic story of innocence, love, heroes and a war still fresh in my mind. Throughout history, there have been men who were handsome, and men who were brave, men who sacrificed themselves, and men who destroyed even kingdoms with their madness. In her debut novel, Madeline Miller has managed to capture the stories of two of the greatest men in history: Achilles and Patroclus, friends, companions and lovers till the end. 

Told in vivid, moving terms this book will transport you into a world unlike anything you have ever experienced before. It tells the story in Patroclus’ point of view, from the moment of his birth to the moments after his death; through him, we see his early childhood as a…

The Burning Maze

Image
Third book in the Trials of Apollo series. Keep tissues.
Author: Rick Riordan
Rating: 4.5/5
Recommend: Fans of the Percy Jackson, and the Heroes of Olympus series will love (and curse) this book. It is the best release yet in The Trials of Apollo series and features the return of previous characters like Grover and Piper, and also has in store some major heartache. Keep your Kleenex ready; you’ve been warned.
Apollo, the most gorgeous and glorious Greek God (his words, not mine) of music, poetry, archery and a ton of other things has been punished to live on Earth as an awkward, acne-ridden teenager in the name of Lester Papadopoulus (that’s what happens when you anger Zeus). Bound into service by demigod Meg McCaffrey the two of them set out on a quest to free Apollo’s seven oracles that have gone dark.
In the third book, Apollo is going through his third trial, to free the Oracle Herophile; Herophile is bound in chains by the evil sorceress Medea in the Labyrinth. What’s Medea doing you…

Clockwork Angel

Image
Book 1 of the Infernal Devices Trilogy. Prequel to The Mortal Instruments.
Author: Cassandra Clare
Rating: 4.5/5
Recommend: Victorian London. Demons. Warlocks. Faeries. Avenging angels. A gorgeous damsel. Poetry. Not one, but TWO extremelygood-looking males with unreal personalities. Oh and an evil madman with a clockwork army trying to kill them all. Sound good?
I have a confession to make before I start. After finishing the Infernal Devices trilogy, my heart went through a good long weeping phase, at the unfairness of it all – because the world of the Shadowhunters (and sweeter than life itself, beautiful, violin playing, silver-haired James Carstairs) are both fictional. WHY WORLD, WHY? Sigh. Here goes the review of the first book, Clockwork Angel.
Set in the time of Victorian London, when women spoke little and men expected them to, there existed a race of creatures completely (or mostly) unknown to ordinary human kind. Enter the Shadowhunters – half angel by blood, they are warriors …